The Workshops Rail Museum, North Street North Ipswich

Celebrate the birth of the Australian motorcycle with The Workshops Rail Museum’s new temporary display, The Spencer Project – featuring a rare and beautiful Spencer machine brought to life with original parts from the museum collection.

Explore the extraordinary history of David (Jimmy) Spencer, an Ipswich local in the early 1900s credited with developing Australia’s first motorcycles. Discover original objects, photographs and documents that pay homage to Spencer’s remarkable contribution to the Australian motorcycle industry.

Exhibition highlights include: discover a rare and beautiful recreation of a Spencer motorcycle constructed by volunteers from the Historical Motor Cycle Club of Queensland using original parts. Step back in time to 1898 in Rockhampton with an album of original photographs from the construction of the then Fitzroy Bridge, a project which Spencer likely worked on. See Spencer’s Queensland Motor Cycle Club 80 Mile Reliability Trial Medal from 1907 and browse the original trial records. Marvel at the fine craftsmanship of Spencer’s original hand made parts and tools.

Monday 27th May 2024 at 00:00 - 00:00

Tuesday 28th May 2024 at 00:00 - 00:00

Wednesday 29th May 2024 at 00:00 - 00:00

Thursday 30th May 2024 at 00:00 - 00:00

Friday 31st May 2024 at 00:00 - 00:00

Saturday 01st June 2024 at 00:00 - 00:00

Sunday 02nd June 2024 at 00:00 - 00:00

Monday 03rd June 2024 at 00:00 - 00:00

Tuesday 04th June 2024 at 00:00 - 00:00

Wednesday 05th June 2024 at 00:00 - 00:00

Thursday 06th June 2024 at 00:00 - 00:00

Friday 07th June 2024 at 00:00 - 00:00

Saturday 08th June 2024 at 00:00 - 00:00

Sunday 09th June 2024 at 00:00 - 00:00

Monday 10th June 2024 at 00:00 - 00:00