Ipswich Art Gallery, d'Arcy Doyle Place Ipswich

The Space Between Us is a major mid-career survey of the past two decades of Lincoln Austin’s practice.

Through artworks of varied scale, from delicate miniature assemblages to expansive installations, the artist’s work playfully captivates the viewer in an immersive experience of colour, design and whimsy.

The exhibition draws together works from public institutions and private collections and has been curated by Samantha Littley in collaboration with the artist.

An illustrated catalogue will accompany the show, available from The Gallery Shop.

No Bookings Required for General Admission.

All visitors are required to provide contact tracing information via a digital QR code check-in on arrival as part of the Gallery’s CovidSafe plan.

Please note General Admission does not include entry to the Children’s Gallery. Pre-book free entry to the Children’s Gallery via Eventbrite.

Saturday 15th May 2021 at 10:00 - 17:00

Sunday 16th May 2021 at 10:00 - 17:00

Monday 17th May 2021 at 10:00 - 17:00

Tuesday 18th May 2021 at 10:00 - 17:00

Wednesday 19th May 2021 at 10:00 - 17:00

Thursday 20th May 2021 at 10:00 - 17:00

Friday 21st May 2021 at 10:00 - 17:00

Saturday 22nd May 2021 at 10:00 - 17:00

Sunday 23rd May 2021 at 10:00 - 17:00

Monday 24th May 2021 at 10:00 - 17:00

Tuesday 25th May 2021 at 10:00 - 17:00

Wednesday 26th May 2021 at 10:00 - 17:00

Thursday 27th May 2021 at 10:00 - 17:00

Friday 28th May 2021 at 10:00 - 17:00

Saturday 29th May 2021 at 10:00 - 17:00

TripAdvisor Ratings

  • (34)
  • (21)
  • (1)
  • (2)
  • (3)

Recent Reviews

Colleen B

Feb 2020

Construction and tape tunnels.

What a fun morning for my grandson. Activities were interactive and challenging. The tape tunnel was extremely well thought out and constructed. So many places to explore. Pity it’s closing soon but... more »

Malcolm G

Feb 2020

Regional Gallery gives Big Gallery experience in a more personal space

second visit to gallery and love their clever use of space and the friendly helpful staff. 1st visit last year was the Arthur BOYD exhibition 2nd visit today was the construction exhibition Both... more »

Vicki B

Jan 2020

Highly recommend

We often visit the Ipswich Art Gallery during the Dec/Jan school holidays as they have fantastic exhibitions for children. But Tapescape would have to be the best exhibition yet! My daughter... more »

Jennafa R

Jan 2020

Exceeded expectations tenfold

We went to the gallery to check out the TapeScape exhibition and we were not disappointed. It was a stunning exhibition and not only was that the only amazing exhibition and activity but there was... more »

OnAir332681

Oct 2019

Well worth a visit

The gallery is a good example of how a gracious heritage building, constructed originally as the School of Arts back in the 1860s, can be adapted for a modern purpose. The collection is small but... more »