The Workshops Rail Museum, North Street North Ipswich

Based on the popular ABC television series co-created by David Batty and Francis Jupurrurla Kelly, and told through the show’s distinctive brand of humour, this exhibition showcases the ingenuity of outback mechanics whose clever resourcefulness can turn branches, spinifex and sand into tools and spare parts to get cars back on the road.

Bush Mechanics: The Exhibition features a range of items from the series, including two original cars, clay figurines, specially commissioned artwork and interactive displays, it also provides broader insights into Aboriginal life and culture.
Bush Mechanics
Visitors to the exhibition will be able to see original footage from the series and try their hand at some of the ingenious and resourceful nyurulypa, or tricks, by assembling the discarded parts that make up the exhibition’s ‘bush driving simulator’ and operating it.

Exhibition admission is included with general Museum entry.

Wednesday 21st August 2019 at 09:30 - 16:00

Thursday 22nd August 2019 at 09:30 - 16:00

Friday 23rd August 2019 at 09:30 - 16:00

Saturday 24th August 2019 at 09:30 - 16:00

Sunday 25th August 2019 at 09:30 - 16:00

Monday 26th August 2019 at 09:30 - 16:00

Tuesday 27th August 2019 at 09:30 - 16:00

Wednesday 28th August 2019 at 09:30 - 16:00

Thursday 29th August 2019 at 09:30 - 16:00

Friday 30th August 2019 at 09:30 - 16:00

Saturday 31st August 2019 at 09:30 - 16:00

Sunday 01st September 2019 at 09:30 - 16:00

Monday 02nd September 2019 at 09:30 - 16:00

Tuesday 03rd September 2019 at 09:30 - 16:00

Wednesday 04th September 2019 at 09:30 - 16:00